For information about the minimum standards required in schools in your state or territory speak with your Department of Education and/or Health and for training options see Food Standards Australia and New Zealand

Basic Food safety and Hygiene training

All staff and volunteers preparing and/or serving food should have basic knowledge of the five main elements to preparing safe food:

  1. Food allergens
  2. Personal hygiene
  3. Food handling and storage
  4. Cleaning
  5. Pest control.

Online food safety courses that cover these 5 elements are:

  • Foodsafe Online, by Environmental Health Australia
    This course can be accessed via your local council for free; via the Environmental Health Australia website for a fee or though the Canteen Association in your State or territory

Food safety and hygiene – new standards

A new National Food Safety Standard, 3.2.2A – Food Safety Management Tools has been introduced across Australia. Part of the new standard requires school canteens to appoint a food safety supervisor. The new Standard is effective 8 December 2023. 

A food safety supervisor must undergo training by a registered training organisation and complete competency in the SITSS00069 – Food Safety Supervision Skill Set:

  • SITXFSA005 – Use hygienic practices for food safety
  • SITXFSA006 – Participate in safe food handling practices.

The key components of the course are:

  • Introduction to Food Safety
  • Food Contamination Hazards and Prevention
  • Personal Hygiene and Responsibilities for Food Handlers
  • Safe Food Handling and Storage
  • Food Safety Programs.

A number of states and territories are facilitating this training specific for Canteens:

Find what you’re looking for